IMPORTANT NOTICE: 
TO ALL INVESTMENT ADVISERS SEEKING REGISTRATION 
WITH THE ARKANSAS SECURITIES DEPARTMENT

YOU MUST USE ELECTRONIC FILING THROUGH WWW.IARD.COM
 

The Arkansas Securities Department is now participating in a new electronic investment adviser registration/renewal filing system, the Investment Adviser Registration Depository (IARD). The IARD is a joint effort by the Securities and Exchange Commission, the North American Securities Administrators Association (“NASAA”), and the Arkansas Securities Department. This new filing system will be a one-stop electronic filing system that will utilize the electronic technology of the Internet at the web address: http://www.iard.com. Because all states will be utilizing this registration/renewal filing process over the Internet, the IARD offers investment advisers several advantages over the previous direct paper filings: 

· Eliminates paper filings; 

· A single filing satisfies all State filing requirements; 

· Automatic payment of state fees; 

· Easy public access 



The IARD filing system will be operated by National Association of Securities Dealers Regulation, Inc., (“NASDR”) which acts as a vendor only for this purpose. In this capacity, the NASDR has no enforcement or regulatory authority over the investment adviser registrant. Therefore, questions regarding IARD filing requirements should be directed to the Arkansas Securities Department.

The attached "IARD CHECKLIST" sets forth some important steps to establish a "User Account" for registering/renewing through the IARD. However, the entire electronic process now required by the Arkansas Securities Department can be accessed through your computer on the Internet at http://www.iard.com and the links set forth therein. If you do not have access to the Internet, you may use Arkansas Securities Department computers for access.

Contact:

Linda Streit
Supervisor
Email: linda.streit@securities.arkansas.gov
Phone: (501) 324-8672

1. REGISTRATION FEE
Registration Filing Fee of $300.00 must be submitted by way of the IARD System. 

2. Copy of Part II of Form ADV and Schedule F.
  

3. Resolution of Firm
Resolution authorizing the application to be executed by the person signing on page 1 of Form ADV. 

Click Below For Blank Form:
Resolution of Firm Form
4. Financial Statement Information
Firms engaged in business one year or more must provide a complete copy of their latest audited financial statements plus an unaudited statement of financial condition, as of a date within 30 days of the filing date. 

Firms that neither hold customer funds or securities nor require repayment of more than $500 in fees per client and no more than 6 or more months in advance, may file only the unaudited state of financial condition instead of the complete audited statements. Such statements shall be certified as true and accurate by the chief financial officer or the person execution the Form ADV.

5. Capital Requirements
Arkansas Code Annotated § 23-42-303. Minimum net capital requirement. 

(a)    The commissioner shall require a minimum net capital for registered investment advisers in the amount of twelve thousand five hundred dollars ($12,500).

Rule 303.02
CAPITAL REQUIREMENTS FOR REGISTERED INVESTMENT ADVISERS

Except as otherwise provided in the Act or in these rules, each registered investment adviser shall at all times have and maintain no less than the minimum net capital required by Section 23-42-303(a) of the Act. Net capital for the purposes of this rule shall mean the net worth of the applicant or registrant calculated by computing the excess of total assets over total liabilities. The provisions of this rule shall not apply to an investment adviser whose principal place of business is located in a State other than Arkansas, provided that the investment adviser is registered or licensed as an investment adviser in such State and is in compliance with the net capital requirements of such State.

6. Uniform Surety Bond Information
Firms whose principal place of business in Arkansas must post a company surety bond of $50,000 if:

1. the firm holds customer funds, or 

2. has discretionary authority over any customer's accounts.
(See Rule 102.01(11) for the definition of "discretionary authority".) 


No bond is required of the firms whose principal place of business is in a State other than Arkansas, and they are registered or licensed as an investment advisor in such State, and the firm is in compliance with the bonding requirements of such State.

Click Below For Blank Form:
Uniform Surety Bond
7. Organizational Information of Firm
Articles of Incorporation, Certificate of Partnership, or Articles of Organization, whichever is applicable, and any amendments thereto. 

8. Copies of investment advisory contracts to be used by the investment advisor.
